Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What to do about problematic people?
Hi, I'm not sure if this is where I'm supposed to post something like this, but I can really use some insight on this situation!

I've been training Muay Thai for almost 6 months now. I love it, I've always had low self esteem (I also used to have depression and social anxiety) and been afraid to try new things things have been different ever since I started going to my gym. There's this other girl in my class who's been there at least twice as long as me and she hits too hard during light, technical sparring. I've sparred with literally all sorts of people in my time at my gym but she's the only one that goes too hard and aggressive. She acts really nice to me and strikes up small talk a bit before and after class and sometimes gives me tips while doing drills and if I ask questions. She also will approach me to spar together sometimes.

Even during really basic drills like the basic jab cross she punches really hard. And during kick drills she always has to throw in extra in-my-face jabs (other people throw in jabs too, but she hits harder than them and almost directly hits my face/forces through my gaurd a bit while others just hit lightly at my gloves).

Then during sparring today, she hardly let me get anything in. She was going too fast and hitting much harder than anyone else and she kept throwing combos with offensive front kicks that she knew I wouldn't be able to block. Light sparring never hurts except when I'm with her. We're both wearing shingaurds but my shins hurt a lot from just blocking her low kicks. And every teep she throws at me is way too much, even when I harden my abdominal muscles in time.