Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Thinking about competing
Hey, i've been doing MT for almost 2 months now, and over the summer i am going to start running 10k runs etc. to build up my stamina, just for thaiboxing. My question is, how is MT competition at amateur level? What am i to expect, and how much experience should i have until i even consider competing?
Your trainer is probably the best person to judge when you are ready for a competition, and will also give you tuition in preparing for a fight. Tournaments and interclubs are a way to step into actual full scale competition.
Good luck!
As @Happy Frog says, it's hard for any of us to say if you're ready or not, as we haven't Deen you train and we don't know what level you're at.

The most important people in this decision is your trainers, and more importantly you. If you feel like your ready and want to compete, speak you your gym and get their advice aswell, as I'm sure they'd not only want to see you fulfil your ambition, but they'd also want to see you win aswell.

Day to day training is different than competition training aswell, and its important to be able to differentiate between the two if your going to be a success.
If you are really thinking about competing in the sport, then you should watch fighting videos. The real fighting is a little different than the movie fighting. You should watch street fighting tips in YouTube videos too. There is this one guy on YouTube called Master Ken. He makes funny videos but the information that he provides is best very useful. You also need to work on your punch combinations and get a sparing partner. Craiglist is good place to look for a sparing partner. Also Facebook because it show local people. Just ask random people and don’t be afraid to ask.