Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Muay Thai is partly religion
I have heard from an announcer in one Muay Thai matches of World Championship Kickboxing that Muay Thai is actually part of a religion in Thailand. From what I understand, Muay Thai is like yoga that is used by the fighter to strengthen his concentration for a better mental attitude. That is also ther reason why some Muay Thai fighters always pray before the fight.
I have no background about MT. What I know is the Thai Boxing which is a modified boxing as compared to a regular boxing bout which doesn't allow the use of elbow, kicks, and the like. I don't know if a religion is related with the common practice of every Thai boxers to do their ritual prayer before they fight. Well, for the sake of discussion when a person is praying does it really necessarily reflects his religion? Yes, our favorite boxer, Manny Pacquiao is always praying on the ring before he goes to a fight. That is his practice but it doesn't reflect that kind of religion which he believes in. Sorry for my ignorance or whatever.
Many martial arts have origins in religions and eventually in Thailand there is still a close connection to religion, but I can assure you that the people practicing it in my country are not interested in the religious history of it, they just love the martial art and that's why they practice it.
You are very correct @to7update though I am not clear with martial arts having a religious link, over here many of us interested in martial arts do not give a thinking about whether it has religious background, it doesn't occur to us. We are simply out to get the best fitting and physical strength obtainable through the training.
I was really not aware of any of the religious aspects, but sure enough once I saw this the first time around I started to pay a little more attention to it. It makes sense, and if that is what you want to make of it, then by all means.