Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Craving after working out?
Don't you ever feel cravings after working out and feel like wanting to eat a lot? I usually feel this way sometimes and I've found out that it comes down to what you eat and how often you eat; for example if you eat too much then you may get cramps, if you eat too little then you get these cravings, you have to eat the right amount at the right time, usually small meals throughout the day.
Oh yes, and this is completely natural. When you get done burning a lot of energy it is only right to want to put some back in, and the key here is having the right things on hand. I am not a nutrition expert by any means, but some pretty good common sense I would say can suffice here. Having fruits and vegetables on hand are the best for these times, because this is when the body wants to absorb those nutrients, so you need to feed it the good ones.
I normally have a small snack about an hour before I start my work out so I never really get this feeling. Even during my work out if I get peckish I will have a banana or an apple. It really gives me that extra boost.
I always have cravings after I work out. I thought that was normal for every one. I just have a banana afterwards and I feel better. I try not to eat before my workout because it doesn't stop me having cravings after anyway.
Whether you get cravings or not you need to eat something after working out. Yogurt, chocolate milk, energy drinks — anything that will help you recover your energy quickly. That actually is why you'll get cravings after working out. It's your body telling you that it needs "fuel" for post exercise metabolism.